Feb 25

The Fifth Republic

In ABS-CBNNEWS.COM Fr. Joaquin Bernas explains why our present Republic is the fifth in our history.

The first was the Malolos Republic of 1898. The second was the Laurel “republic” of 1943. The third was the independent republic established in 1946; the fourth, the “new republic” created by Marcos in 1981; the fifth, the republic born of the Edsa revolution.

Leave a Reply